Register Now for Open Source Community Call - Sept 2020

Printer-friendly version

Open Source Community Call

Join the Open Source Community Call co-hosted by FORCE11, Dryad, and eLife on September 29th, 3pm UTC (8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm BST)

Innovators share the latest updates and opportunities in the open-source space for research communication and publishing. Representatives from open source projects present in a 'lightning talk' format, 5 minutes or less, to share about projects and communities that are emerging or underway, so we can learn more about available open resources, where we can engage or contribute and consider where collaboration can contribute to the path forward.

Presenters include representatives from: 

  • Whole Tale (https://wholetale.org) is an NSF-funded Data Infrastructure Building Block (DIBBS) initiative to build a scalable, open source, web-based, multi-user platform for reproducible research enabling the creation, publication, and execution of tales - executable research objects that capture data, code, and the complete software environment used to produce research findings.
  • Journal of Open Source Software (https://joss.theoj.org) is a developer friendly, open access journal for research software packages. Committed to publishing quality research software with zero article processing charges or subscription fees.
  • The Carpentries (https://carpentries.org) comprises of Software Carpentry, Data Carpentry, and Library Carpentry communities of Instructors, Trainers, Maintainers, helpers, and supporters who share a mission to teach foundational computational and data science skills to researchers.
  • MetaDocencia (https://metadocencia.netlify.app/en/) is a non-profit organization that nurtures a community of Spanish-speaking educators by teaching concrete, evidence-based, and student-centered educational methods.
  • Center for Scientific Collaboration and Community Engagement (https://www.cscce.org) is a research and training center to support and study the emerging field of scientific community engagement.
  • ...and more!

Registration is free! Please register at the event registration page.

Register Now!

Open Source Community calls are co-hosted by Dryad, eLife and FORCE11 to foster collaboration and raise awareness of open resources, practices and communities in the research publishing space.