DataONE Webinar Series "Boyle's Laws in Networked World"

Printer-friendly version
Event Host: 
DataONE
Date: 
Tuesday, June 16, 2015 (All day)
Location: 
Webinar www.dataone.org/webinars

Dear Community

We are pleased to open registration for the second event in the DataONE Webinar Series (www.dataone.org/webinars) focussed on open science, the role of the data lifecycle, and achieving innovative science through shared data and ground-breaking tools.

Our webinar will be presented by Dr Cameron Neylon from the Public Library of Science and is titled: 

Boyle’s Laws in a Networked World: How the future of science lies in understanding our past
Cameron Neylon, Public Library of Science 
Tuesday March 10th
9 am Pacific / 10 am Mountain / 11am Central / 12 noon Eastern

The abstract for the talk is detailed below and you may register at: www.dataone.org/upcoming-webinar.  Please circulate widely in your communities; registration is free.

Webinars will be held the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 12 noon Eastern Time.  They will be recorded and made available for viewing latter the same day. A Q&A forum will also be available to attendees and later viewers alike.

We welcome you to join us for this and future webinars in the series.  More information on the DataONE WebinarSeries can be found at: www.dataone.org/webinars and we welcome suggestions for speakers and topics.

Abstract
When we talk about scholarly communication, we are almost always talking of the future. If we do look to the past it is to a canonical work. In the sciences today, we begin almost every discussion of the scholarly communications with the first edition of the Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, published in 1665, before proceeding to move past this and show that nothing (or everything) has changed. I will argue that if we are to understand the origins of scholarly communication in the sciences we need to look past the object to the community and the values that defined it.

In the writings of Robert Boyle, we find guidance on the proper modes of scientific conduct and communication that might appear in a graduate training book today, but which are rarely realised in practice. Data sharing, open criticism and open experimentation all form a core part of the program of natural philosophy promoted by Boyle. If those values were truly realised in the 1660s it was because the community was small, exclusive and homogenous. Over the past 350 years those values were weakened and lost as scaling issues made them impractical. Do the internet and the web offer a solution to these problems? And if so, how can we develop communities and infrastructures that combine the best of the values of the early Royal Society with our more modern values of diversity, inclusion and equality